Why you should’nt use your Moped engine as a shop-vac!

So last Monday night I went riding with the Mosquito Fleet through Seattle. The ride was cold, but it was fun until it started to rain like a hurricane. I did’nt think much of it and continued to ride my moped for about five more minutes it started to bog out something fierce. My Air filter was completely saturated with water and my moped was running like crap. One of the guys from the fleet told me to yank my airfilter, so I did. Bad Idea… All the sand and gravel that was one the street started its direct journey off my moped wheel and then directly into my carburetor. Lucky for me this also screwed up my throttle slide and made my throttle stick. I pulled over and spent several minutes trying to get it worked out to no avail. Anyway I pushed my moped home from Fremont to Queen Anne in the rain…..suck.

So Today I had some time to pull my motor out and check it out. The motor was full of sand and gravel, like I had used my motor as a shop-vac. Some of the crud worked its way between the piston ad cylinder wall which made for some sweet scoring in my cylinder and on my rings. Needless to say I had a new pair of rings laying around and slapped those on. I also spent two bottles of carb cleaner spraying out the cylinder, case, and carburetor. Here are some pics of my thursday adventure. Oh and I did get running at about 4:30 today, feels poppy and torquey from the new rings and gasket. Break-in all over again!’ 😦

untilsandy messmoped and motorsnv11448.jpg

About J Jones

mopeds suck, but I am addicted. Datsun 510 Suck harder, But I am addicted. Heroin is amazing but I can never find any......
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

