Monza Madness!!!!!!

So about a year ago my friend Brad found a Puch Monza here in the states. I have been wanting a Magnum for sometime now and assumed the Monza would never leave Brad as it is the coolest moped on the face of the planet (in my opinion). Anyway 2 weeks ago Brad decided to trade me for my Tomos Sprint SE. Yup I traded a perfectly good running bike for a none running heap. What gives you ask? The chance of having the funnest moped ever! The Monza is a 4 speed mini motorcycle with pedals. Its an amazing bike with a lot of potential if I treat it right. I haven’t had a lot of time to play with it because of work but I did get to rip into yesterday for about an hour.
Puch Monza


There are only two major issues I can find with this bike. The first of these issues is the cylinder skirt has a small crack in it. My buddy Naz thinks he can weld it up no problem.small crack
The second issue will not be such an easy fix. The stator side of the flywheel use to have a woodruff key slot in it. The key phrase being “use to”ouch
The stator side of the crank is really mooned out, probably toast. So after a few minutes of thinking and a beer I made some phone calls to friends with HPI ignitions. The hpi is a key-less internal rotor cdi. They are also pricey as you can see. I think this is probably the easiest solution although I think I might not make it to the 4th of July ride with my Monza as I had wished for. Either way aside from these two issues I should have a running Monza after I donate some plasma to pay for my new ignition. I also just order a 24mm oko carburetor for this bike as the carb that was one it was a bit out dated. Enjoy the pics there is a lot more to come from this project I am sure.

About J Jones

mopeds suck, but I am addicted. Datsun 510 Suck harder, But I am addicted. Heroin is amazing but I can never find any......
This entry was posted in hobies, moped repair, mopeds. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

