Lord of the Rings

So my mini magnum project had a slight hump to get over this week. Something I never really think much about is headsets, you know those ring and cup looking things that let you move your forks around. Anyway I learned a life lesson about magnum headsets this week (they are impossible to find). Out of all this junk below you think anyone could get some forks onto a bike right? Wrong. CRAP
After two trips to a bicycle shop I finally found some cups that kinda worked but the race was to small to sit right over the cups on the headset. I started going crazy over how stupid of a problem this was. Sitting in my apartment with a hole in my wallet from the 30 dollars in useless headsets I had purchased I decided to put on my thinking goggles. SNV16700 10 minutes Later I was dremeling one of the bearing cups to see if I could get it to clear the race. Sure enough a little home lathing with a dremel along with some precision sanding and I was in business. I was a little worried the only thing that was going to hold this bike back from being built was the stupid headset. Anyway I wouldn’t have figured any of this out without some help from Bob Barrans of Mosquito Fleet who has been through this dilemma as well. Crisis averted and now to build…… hopefully I will get some free time this weekend to slam all this stuff together.SNV16703

About J Jones

mopeds suck, but I am addicted. Datsun 510 Suck harder, But I am addicted. Heroin is amazing but I can never find any......
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lord of the Rings

  1. That is the best picture ever.

Leave a Reply

