The pug hurt more than just my feelers this time….

As some of you know I have a slight love, hate relationship with my black Peugeot 103 moped. I love this bike, even now as I write on pain killers and sits broken in my garage it is still my favorite moped.  So Monday night I decided to ride the “Moby Dick” as I have now named her. She was fast, this is by far one of the fastest bikes if not the fastest that I have owned. To build a bike like this takes some level of mechanical skill, fabrication, and stupidity. Unfortinantly the last part seems to have finally caught up with me on Monday night. about half way through the ride we all took ofF from a light, about 30 seconds later my variator nut spun off, allowing my crank to snap clean off the motor. Then it got horrific, the crank is attached to a 7 pound hunk of aluminum, steel, and graphite called a varitator. This component shot directly into my leg at full revs and then after that shot down the street like a mexican pin wheel. I didn’t crash and was lucky. After pulling Over I dropped my bike and assessed the damage to my body. My leg hurt real bad, and I felt like I was gonna blow chunks. So my friend Seth went and got me some water. Soon after I looked at my leg and realized I was in a bit of pain. I will let the pics do the rest of the talking. Either way I have to say thanks to all my friends for helping me out Monday, especially Tagen for giving me and my bike a ride to the hospital and then back to my garage.  Enjoy the pics!

This is the variator,  the variator part was actually fine,  ist the whole clutch pack that is destroyed and gone, Ps these don’t normally have a nifty carrying handle 🙂

About J Jones

mopeds suck, but I am addicted. Datsun 510 Suck harder, But I am addicted. Heroin is amazing but I can never find any......
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The pug hurt more than just my feelers this time….

  1. westseattleryan says:

    Sexy! I heart you JJ

  2. vivek says:

    jesus christ dude. that is horrifying. i just stumbled across this blog through the word moped, but i would hate to have a variator shot into my leg. i’ll stick with the e50 life 🙂

Leave a Reply

